Hackers now using Fake Video Message to Hijack Facebook Accounts

Hackers are now using fake video messages to hijack Facebook accounts of unsuspecting Facebook users; it has emerged.

In several instances reported in the recent past, it appears that hackers have devised this new method that differs from the Eko malware one to target users of Facebook Messenger at random.

Facebook Messenger is a private messaging feature that Facebook users can use to chat with their friends on the Facebook platform. However, it appears that hackers have devised a new method that they use to send a message to unsuspecting users about a fake video or file.

‘Are you in this video,’ is one of the messages that the hackers are repeatedly sending to unsuspecting users, luring them to click on links to check whether they are featured in the mentioned videos.

In the current wave of attacks targeting Facebook, it appears that the hackers have stuck to the old school methods of phishing and scamming unsuspecting victims. The ultimate goal of the attacks is to hijack the Facebook accounts of users and steal the login information of the users.

For hackers to successfully achieve this objective they first attempt to compromise a few Facebook accounts belonging to other users, it has been reported.

Once the hackers have unauthorised access to a Facebook account, they then send hundreds of the fake messages to the friends of the person who owns the Facebook account. By doing so, the hackers are banking on the natural tendency of people to trust and open messages that come from their friends.

However, what many victims of the scam fail to realise is that the messages about videos that they receive are fake and that the links in the messages are baits.

It has been reported that when a person opens the fake message and clicks on the provided link, the person is led to any of the various fake websites that the hackers have set up for the sole purpose of stealing the login credentials of their victims.

Users are then prompted to re-enter their login details on the fake Facebook website. If the account of the users does not use the two-step authentication process, hackers can easily steal the login details of the user.

Alternatively, it has been reported that the hackers infect the computers of their victims with special malware programs that still end up stealing the login information of the users. In this case, victims are led to download what appears to be genuine software to help them watch specific videos. However, as it is the case with the other instances in which victims are led to fake sites, the hackers still use fake software programs to infect the devices of the users with malware programs and then end up stealing their login credentials.