LeakerLocker Extorting 50 Out of Victims to Keep their Private Data Safe

Spyware found in Google Play Store, your location might be known to hackers

A new type of malware plaguing apps found on Google Play Store has been found. It threatens to send your private information, like pictures, messages and web history to all your contacts.

LeakerLocker, the malware in question, when accidentally downloaded starts off by locking your Android’s home screen and proceeds to claim of having the backup of all your personal data found on the device.

Unless you pay the price it demands, it threatens to send the data to everyone you know.

Two apps found on Google Play Store called Wallpapers Blur HD and Booster & Cleaner Pro are the ones with the malware, according to McAfee. McAfee is known as the world’s biggest security technology company.

Due to victims allowing permission during the installation, LeakerLocker is able to lock the person’s home screen and reach private information in the background.

According to McAfee’s staff, the data that the malware has access to is not all leaked, like the victim’s email, random contacts, Chrome history, a picture from the camera, some messages and calls, as well as some of the information on the device itself.

The tainted apps have been reported to Google, which started an ongoing investigation. By this time, Wallpapers Blur HD has been downloaded between 5,000 and 10,000 times while Booster & Cleaner Pro has between 1,000 and 5,000 downloads.

If by any chance the malware makes its way into your phone, McAfee advises not to give in and pay the $50 fee the LeakerLocker demands.

The company added that doing so would only contribute to the increase of such businesses, and it would only result in more attacks. The victims also do not get any guarantee that their private information won’t be used to extortion again.

However, there will surely be some people who will give in and pay the price the malware is demanding, due to sheer panic.

In case you do what, the malware is asking you to, it will ask for your credit card number and once the money is transferred, your phone will have a message from the malware. It will tell you that your personal data has been deleted and that your privacy is secure.

If something goes wrong with the payment and the money doesn’t come through, the message will say that no payment has been made and warn you about your privacy being in danger.